America's Lady of Supernatural Thrillers

“Raven's Cove, a great mystery by Mary Ann Poll. Avoid it when winds are gusting to hurricane speed outside. No extra creepiness needed.”
~Bonnye Matthews
Step aside Stephen King, Alaska’s Mary Ann Poll is here to spin new tales of the super-natural and the ungodly, as her heroes and heroines take on the forces of evil on 'The Last Frontier.' ~Jeff Babcock

Buy from Amazon
Buy Signed Copies from Mary Ann
Buy from Barnes & Noble

What Defines Christian Fiction?

A Spiritual System for Rating BooksRavens Cove Award SF-Fiction-RavensCove resizeI am a Christian. I enjoy nothing more than a scary Christian supernatural thriller. However, they are few and far between. I’ve read books by Frank Peretti. I’ve read the Left Behind series. These writings are about the extent of what I’ve found to satisfy my craving for a good Christian supernatural thriller.

I once read a quote by Toni Morrison: “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” Unknowingly, this is what I did when I wrote the Iconoclast Thriller series.

I started writing the series because I love a good, creepy story. I was unsure how to meld my love of goosebump-producing stories and my love for Christ. I had no need to worry. Ravens Cove, An Alaska Iconoclast Mystery did just that. All the books in the Iconoclast  series focus on the eternal battle for the human soul. What is creepier than knowing something so sinister and so evil is bent on having you serve his malevolent desires for all eternity?

As I wrote these novels, I prayed. I was concerned about ensuring both a fun read and a Christian one. In November, 2016, Ravens Cove was awarded the  “Spirit-filled Fiction Award of Excellence by Radiqx Press. I was both humbled and grateful for the Five-Star rating of Ravens Cove. As a Christian author, this is the highest award I could have received.

I found out that this award was based on the book A Spiritual System for Rating Books written by David Bergsland.

A Spiritual System for Rating Books uses a five-star approach to rating Christian fiction:

  • 1 Star—The Clean Read
  • 2 Star—The Legal Level
  • 3 Star—The Religious Level
  • 4 Star—Redemptive Fiction
  • 5 Star—Spirit-Filled Fiction

This short book outlining the different types of Christian fiction is both very informative and easy to read and understand.  If you’ve ever wondered what truly constitutes Christian fiction, I suggest you read  A Spiritual System for Rating Books. It will answer your questions and open your eyes.

You can obtain a copy here:

Or buy a copy from Amazon here:

If you would like to read the full Ravens Cove review by Peter Younghusband, it is available on his website:

This entry was posted in Christian Fiction, Creepy Supernatural Fiction, Supernatural Thrillers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *